Mardi Gras Mania

Dianne Waller
3 min readOct 18, 2021

--

If you miss Carnival, Here’s a Facebook group just for you!

Here in New Orleans, like other major cities around the nation, we are at our breaking point, the pandemic is still ranging, and many people are feeling tired from the recent hurricane that destroyed our area. Things are hard here right now and people are struggling to get through these tough times. Piles of trees and hurricane debris line our streets, It’s pretty depressing around here right now, the community and I need something to look forward too, some positivity, something to celebrate. Now more than ever we need to remember why life is so good here. We need to remember what we love about living here! I need this group called “Mardi Gras Mania”! Do you?

Sure, we need the “real” celebration of Mardi Gras to happen in 2022, but with Mardi Gras canceled last year and the Delta variant of covid this may not be possible. That’s when it occurred to me like the scene from the Grinch when the who’s hold hands and sing Christmas songs after all their Christmas decorations have been stolen. Like Christmas, Carnival lives in our hearts. No pandemic, no bureaucracy, no Grinch, can ever that away!

Image of me Dianne Waller community manager of this group dressed up in my costume for Mardigras 2017

I know my new group “ Mardi Gras Mania”can help with the overall impact our community and it may not save world but can save our Mardi Gras Spirit. I am building a community to remind my social community about all the things that we love and miss about Mardi Gras. To spread joy and happiness through memories, images and fun posts.

This community will bring a sense of excitement back to this area that has had no Mardi Gras celebration for the past two years. I know that this will make an impact in our community that loves the culture of carnival. I want this community to be a source of inspiration with costuming and a positive place to celebrate carnival in our future.

I have several community goals, for this new group, Mardi Gras Mania. I would like it to be a place where our Mardi Gras loving community can gather and celebrate Carnival. We can achieve a sense of excitement and great times through memories and remind ourselves all the favorite reasons we in this physical community celebrate carnival. My main goal is to liven the Mardi Gras sprit in our community. This Community will not only be a place of memories but can also serve as a go to place of costume advice, a creative place for ideas, and a hub of support for all things carnival. In order to drive up engagement, I plan to have polls about what is our favorite parade or “who wore it best” when it comes to costuming, or what is the best “throw”. We can have some virtual activities like a treasure hunt of some of the best doubloons (or treasured Mardi Gras coins). We will utilize popular Mardi Gras hashtags such as “throwmesomethingmister”,“mardigrasmania”, and “mardigras2022”.

I would love to get the word out there so please share my new group, I plan on reaching out to Flirty girl and other popular Mardi Gras local influencers to partnership in urging this excitement and celebration! I truly hope this place can be a source of information, inspiration, happiness, and joy of carnival that so many of us feel when Mardi Gras season draws near. They don’t have to go far then can find a little bit of it right here on Facebook and have something we can all look forward to together. So come and Join us and Lassiez Les Bon Temps Rouler!

--

--